Skip to Header Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Palazzo Turinetti

Palazzo Turinetti di Pertengo is a stately building dating to the 17th century which has been gradually transformed over time. Commissioned by Marquis Giorgio Turinetti di Priero, banker to the Dukes of Savoy, the building looks out onto piazza San Carlo with its long colonnade, shaping, with its neighbouring buildings, the harmoniously uniform design of the city’s gathering place. Following the Second World War damage and the subsequent architectural design competition to turn it into a building for high ceremonial functions, in which architect Carlo Mollino participated among others, in the 1960s “modern” buildings designed by Arturo Midana and Mario Dezzutti, part of the new Gallerie d’Italia, were built in the inner courtyard.

The construction of Palazzo Turinetti is closely associated with the major 16th and 17th century project that gave Turin, officially designated capital city of the Savoy state, a new urban and architectural landscape. The present-day piazza San Carlo was built during the 17th century as Piazza Reale, home to large noble residences: a complex project, overseen by the ruling family by means of a land policy based on the donation of land to the nobles on the condition that they built their palaces quickly and at their own expense according to the prearranged architectural design. Today, the building contains extremely fine fixed and mobile furnishings, also the result of acquisitions and transfers from other residences in the city, such as Palazzo Solaro della Chiesa, later Mazzonis di Pralafera, including wood panelling, stuccowork, mirrors, precious carvings, French tapestries and 17th to 20th century paintings by artists like Francia, Cignaroli, Rapous and De Mura.

Gallerie d’Italia - Torino, Palazzo Turinetti, the large staircase ph. Andrea Guermani


Carlo Castellamonte, architect of the House of Savoy, begins the project for a new business square to be used by the wine trade at the same time as the capital city undergoes its first expansion.


Marie Jeanne Baptiste of Savoy-Nemours, also called Madame Royale, bestows a plot to the Turinetti brothers, bankers in the city, who are among the first to receive authorisation to construct a building on piazza San Carlo according to prearranged architectural design of the Savoy state.


Work begins on the development of Piazza Reale, bordered at its shorter ends by two of the city’s neighbourhoods and the “twin” churches, with the annexed convents of San Carlo and Santa Cristina.


The incendiary bombs dropped on the night of 20 November 1942, in December 1942 and in July and August of 1943 burn the roofs and wooden structures of the buildings, leading to the loss of the decorations and original furnishings and causing major damage to the facades.


Gruppo Industriale Rinnovamento Edilizio S. Carlo sells the entire building, acquired in 1945, to Istituto Bancario di San Paolo which plans to turn it into its city headquarters.


The fourth Gallerie d’Italia museum is opened on 16 May 2022 in Palazzo Turinetti, registered office and historic headquarters of Intesa Sanpaolo, in piazza San Carlo.

The project

The architectural project designed by Michele De Lucchi - AMDL Circle transforms the spaces of Palazzo Turinetti into a unique place where photography and video art document and preserve images, events and reflections to promote issues related to the evolution of sustainability.

large staircase, also envisaged as a social space, accompanies visitors towards the below-ground levels that host temporary exhibitions. On the first below-ground floor, the project includes classrooms with modular spaces and a large window that looks out onto the  “Hall of the 300” (on floor -2), the historic room where the shareholders’ meetings of Istituto Bancario Sanpaolo-IMI took place before the construction of the Turin skyscraper, which will now host the temporary exhibitions.

The ticket office located on the second below-ground floor is also a place for gathering and communication, a meeting point from which to head for one of the many exhibitions.

A “long wing”, designed for classic photography, leads to the rooms of level -3, location of the Intesa Sanpaolo Publifoto Archive, visible through a large window. A large touchscreen panel allows visitors to view the digitalised images of the Archive, now accessible to the general public.

Immersive Hall - ph. Andrea Guermani

The third below-ground floor also hosts one of the most distinctive features of the Turin Gallerie: the Immersive Hall of over 500 m2, equipped with seventeen 4K projectors, where visitors can lose themselves among the images and videos.

On the "Piano Nobile" of the building a selection of paintings, sculptures, tapestries and furnishings from between the 14th and 18th centuries dialogues with the late Baroque decorations of the palazzo - overdoors, wood panelling, mirrors - in the rooms that look out onto piazza San Carlo.

On the same floor, a special room hosts nine large canvases belonging to the Bank that were produced in the second half of the 17th century to decorate the old Oratory of the Saint Paul Company, now destroyed.

On the ground floor, the open cloister flanked by piazza San Carlo, via XX Settembre and via Santa Teresa is home to a bookshop, a cafe and a restaurant.

Publifoto Archive - ph. Andrea Guermani

New venue of Gallerie d’Italia – Torino, interview with General Director Michele Coppola